Jump In the Line

This weekend, the Harry Belafonte song was my mantra, I was singing “Work, work, work Senora, work it all the time.”  You know the one, probably most familiar to my generation from the final scene in Beetlejuice (I heart Tim Burton).  “It sounds like Lydia got an A on the Math test.”  Anyone?

Anyway, I’m pretty sure I took the song out of context, but the beat was right and the words served as solid instruction as my muscles started to ache on day four of my painting escapades.  Later this month, Darrin and I are having an open house to celebrate our engagement (more on that event later), but first we’ve got much to do on the house – starting with a ton of painting projects.  Luckily, we had the help of some star painters in the form of my sister Jenn, and brother-in-law, Kevan.

My big sister Jenn lookin' cute with a roller.

Kevan rocking the ceiling work.

We decided to tackle the largest room first.  The challenge with this room is that there are two different ceiling levels, a big rock fireplace with rough edges, and a few “cut-outs” that require a lot of detail work.  It was also difficult to estimate how much paint we would need.  (Read, we ran out of paint mid project.)

But, we finished the project!  On time, even.  I’ll post more complete after-photos once we move some things back into place.

You’ll note that earlier I said that Msr. Belafonte’s song was helpful after 4 straight days of painting.  That’s because I started with a small project of painting some cross beams in our kitchen.  Here’s an in-progress glimpse of that project.

We went with a Behr's Mountain Ridge in high gloss for our cross beams.

For now, it’s time to concentrate on putting the big room back together and then we’re moving on to painting the remaining rooms on the ground floor prior to the party.  Good thing I’ve got some good dance music to keep me going.  “Jump in the line…..”

What about you?  What songs/music/artists keep you going when you’ve run out of steam?  We also relied on a mix from Pandora, the Walkmen, and some old Ricky Gervais podcasts for a few laughs.

5 thoughts on “Jump In the Line

  1. Kathy Jessen says:

    I like anything with a strong beat that I can work with! I use music to workout or clean or paint! I can’t wait to see what you’ve both done with Jenn and Kevan helping! I wish I could have been there! Love you both!

  2. Jennifer Barcellos says:

    Love the roman shades in the dining room! Sweet! As for music, I always bump the song “you make me feel like dancing” to get pumped up. And of course “shake ya tailfeather!”

    • MJ says:

      Thanks, Jen! I love those shades, too! The other day I had some of my students over for a potluck and to play Just Dance 2 on the Wii (a game you’re sure to love). One of the songs they were dancing to was Hey Ya by Outkast. So I started reminiscing about how that song and Shake Ya Tailfeather used to get us on the dance floor in our younger days. It didn’t even occur to me that those same songs would be good for DIY inspiration as well. Good idea. 😉

Leave a Reply

