Countdown to Party Town

Okay, so maybe the title of this post is a little lame.  Okay, maybe more than a little.  I can’t help it.  I love hosting parties and it’s been a long time since I’ve had the chance to play hostess.  I used to hate the role of hostess, but something changed somewhere in my early twenties.  I was living with a great roommate (shout out to Jen B.) and our place became a regular gathering spot for our friends.  It wasn’t too long after being thrust into the role of hostesses for small impromptu gatherings that we started having official parties with themes.  One of the parties that still gets talked about in hushed, reverent tones was Jen’s Real World Birthday Bash (remember, we were in our early twenties).  We had fake cameras posted around the room, a faux aquarium (remember how the Real World house’s always had those kick ass aquariums?), and the piece de resistance – a functioning confessional room.  Watching the video from the confessional the next morning was eye opening.

The Real World Brooklyn's aquarium.

But, I digress.  You may recall me mentioning in a previous post that Darrin and I were planning an engagement party.  In addition to celebrating the engagement, we thought we would use the party as motivation to get work done on the house.  I explained to a friend recently that Darrin and I are both creative types and we simply can’t get things done without looming deadlines.  Her response – “I must be a creative type, too.”  Okay, so maybe it’s less creative type and more human type.

While we do have a number of things to get done on the house prior to the party, I certainly don’t want to take away from the excitement of getting to host my family and a few friends for a celebration.  So, to take you on the ride with us in this process, I’ve got to take you back to step 1 – the invitations.

Custom invitations to our party.

You’ll have to excuse the photography – it doesn’t quite do the work justice.  Darrin designed our invitations.  But, it was a true joint effort.  I wrote the copy, he designed the artwork.  The green in the invitation was selected to match the color we painted our kitchen cabinets.  I bought black card-stock and used it as a backing to the main portion of the invitation.  We bought some basic envelopes, but I felt like they were missing something.  While I was standing in line at Michael’s to buy the card-stock, I noticed letter stamps in the dollar bins by the checkout stand.  I found a ‘j’ for my last name and an ‘h’ for Darrin’s last name.  It was perfect!  I then stamped a monogram on to each of the envelopes.

I really love how the envelopes turned out and I’m pleased that we now have stamps for our last name.  I think we’ll be finding more ways to incorporate our monogram into the party decor.

What about you?  What have been some fun party ideas you’ve incorporated into your events?

5 thoughts on “Countdown to Party Town

    • MJ says:

      Those were the good ol’ days, right Jen?! And thanks for the feedback on the letters. I think they’re my new thing. We just ordered some letters for our wall from Urban Outfitters. Though Darrin’s “H” is on backorder and won’t be in before the party. Boo!

  1. chotaj01 says:

    This is very interesting to me! Do you remember that when you were little in all of your rooms I hads painted your initials and hung them in your room! Your are reverting to your childhood!

Leave a Reply

