Empty Jars

Darrin and I have made very few plans for the wedding.  We haven’t even picked a date.  We know that we want the big day to take place some time next fall.  We also know that the reception will be held at my sister’s house (thank you sister!).  And, aside from the general sentiment (we want it festive and full of love – a big love-fest, if you will) that’s about it on the decisions.

Except for one other thing.  About a month back I saw the picture below on Pinterest and I fell in love.  How soft!  How romantic!  How simple!

Beautiful DIY table setting found at Chelle Paperie.

I quickly decided that this was a route I wanted to take for my own wedding.  So, I started saving every jar from salsa or Trader Joe’s tikka masala sauce or Thai green curry sauce (Darrin’s favorite).  I also put my family on notice to start saving jars from pickles, and jams, and peanut butter – as long as it’s glass, I want it.

Soon, I found I had a sweet little collection of empty jars.  And I recently decided to put them to use, instead of boxing them up in storage for the next year and a half.

First, I bought a small and inexpensive bouquet of hydrangeas.  I then separated the flowers, trimmed them down, and popped them  into their own glass jar.  I think they look kind of sweet.  I love the comparison of the robust bloom of the flower with the simple, stout jar.

The simple arrangement helped breathe some life into our rock fireplace.

For the rest of the jars, I decided to try out their candle-holding skills.  I placed a tea light in each jar, et voila.  I did find, however, that some of the jars have a little inverted hump at the bottom.  This caused the tea light to sort of slip around the bottom of the jar.  If I were to use a larger candle, I think I would need to try putting some sand or rocks in the bottom of the glass to help stabilize the candle.

My new up-cycled mini-candle garden.

Here's a view of both projects on the mantel.

So what do you think?  What other creative ways can I make use of our new collection of jars?  What items have you “up-cycled” that you’re proud about and want to share?

Top picture found at Chelle Paperie’s blog.

6 thoughts on “Empty Jars

  1. Jen Barcellos says:

    Love the glass jar idea! As I sit here I can not think of one thing that i have repurposed for another use. Sad!

  2. Tina Franck says:

    The display on your fireplace looks beautiful. Such a great idea!

    My son, Lucas, goes to a “green” school so I am amazed by the projects they come up with from reusable materials. He had an assignment to make a toy out of recyclable goods and we made a rocket out of a juice bottle, applesauce cup, and some old papers. I was impressed when we were done…if I do say so myself!

    Our latest is we collect pine cones and such on walks to put in bowls that I have around the house.

    Glad you shared your blog. Fun to read. Congrats on your engagement!

    • MJ says:

      Hey Tina! I love the idea of collecting pine cones. Such a great way to bring the outdoors in while including the kids in the process. Thanks for sharing! And thanks for “stopping by.”

Leave a Reply

