32 and Counting…

Recently, I celebrated my 32nd birthday.  I love birthdays.  People tell me this will change as I get older.  But so far, I still love birthdays.  Throughout my childhood, my mom always made birthdays special.  The day would start with birthday pancakes, the sticky sweet stack topped off with one solitary candle.  The rest of the day involved the birthday girl (I’m one of three daughters) getting to make all the decisions – like choosing what to eat for lunch and dinner, what movies to rent, what flavor of ice cream cake to buy, etc.  It was a day dedicated to the birthday girl.  And even when it was one of my sister’s birthdays, it was still a fun day.  I quickly learned that celebrating others could be just as enjoyable as celebrating oneself.

In honor of my 32nd year, I decided to get a little more personal on this post and share with you 32 things I’m thankful for, can’t live without, love, adore, and simply think are frickin’ cool.  Please note that the following list is random and the placement of an item on the list does not indicate its value in my life.

32 Things I’m Thankful For/Can’t Live Without/Love/Adore/Simply Think Are Frickin’ Cool

  1. My Wish List at Amazon – This thing allows me to “shop” without going over budget.  I’m able to save things for later and go back and purchase them when I’m ready.  It’s also a handy tool at Christmas time.  I simply share the link, et voila, my family members have full access to a list of things I want.  Even if they choose not to buy something from the list, at least it provides them with some inspiration.
  2. The greatest invention: the shower
  3. My fiance, Darrin, and his ever expanding ability to love me.
  4. The young man in this photo and the clever way in which he twisted hate into humor.
  5. I’ve said it once, I’ll say it again – Pinterest!  This site is just awesome.  There is so much creativity and beauty out there in the world and people share it on this site.  How can you resist?
  6. These two words uttered together: “Auntie Missy”
  7. Mint ice cream
  8. The way my in-laws-to-be have welcomed me with open arms
  9. These boys (Rocket & Jet):
     
  10. My Dad’s humor.
  11. My Mom’s hugs.
  12. My job.
  13. My big sisters.  
  14. Easy Street Wheat Beer (Why-oh-why won’t O’Dell distribute in CA? Insert whiny voice here.)
  15. Another great invention: The DVR.   So I can record my shows (brace yourselves people, I watch a lot of t.v.) such as: Modern Family, Raising Hope, Glee, Community, Parks & Recreation, The Office, The Soup, Top Chef, Supernatural, Being Human, Royal Pains, Psych, Fairly Legal, Covert Affairs, Suits…I think that’s enough for now.
  16. My friends!!
  17. Harry Potter.  Thank you, J.K. Rowling for such a beautiful series.  I loved the books and will continue to revisit them for the rest of my life.  My mom took me to see the final movie for my birthday and we loved it.  I even cried.  I couldn’t help it; before I knew it, tears were leaking from eyes.  It was just so emotional – the end of an era with characters that I absolutely adore.
  18. Drunk History.  These are hysterical and this one’s my favorite: 
  19. The Richter Center Ambassadors.  I work with these students on a daily basis and they are AMAZING!  When I am depressed by the news of the day just thinking of these students lifts my spirits.  They are young people who are gifted, bright, creative, and are deeply committed to making their community a better place through volunteerism and service.  One day, these students will be leaders in our communities and that fact alone gives me great hope for our future.
  20. Friday night pizza & t.v. with Darrin.
  21. Music.
  22. The fact that Denver will always feel like a second home (especially as long as my BFF Heather is there).
  23. Rock Band (2, 3, and Beatles)
  24. Our home.  It certainly needs a ton of TLC, but it’s ours, it’s definitely unique, and we love it.

    Our home, just after Darrin got the keys. Check out those pink doors.

  25. The fact that I’m a short car ride (2.5 hours or so) from the ocean.
  26. The interwebs (as Darrin likes to call it).  There is so much creativity and beauty out there.  And I’m just a huge nerd at heart.  Through the internet, I’m able to keep learning day-in and day-out.
  27. Photobooks.  I seriously love how I can now dump my favorite photos into a program, pay a fee, and a week or so later I receive a beautiful, professional looking book.
  28. The genius and gift of this young woman: 
  29. Sandwiches
  30. My iPhone and my game apps
  31. Life (as in the gift of, not the game of)
  32. Netflix (though I’m not in love with the recent price hike)
So that’s it.  I’m sure there are things I’ve left off this list.  But, they’ll just have to wait until next year.
What about you?  What are you especially thankful for/excited about/love right now that you want to share?
3 thoughts on “32 and Counting…

  1. julia johnson says:

    I’m thankful that after do many years we are still friends, even if we rarely talk, I still consider u one of my dearest friends. I love you Missy!!

Leave a Reply

