I Got the Blues…and Greens…

Yeah, yeah, yeah…I know my post titles need work.  I’m sure improvements will come with time.  Of course that’s assuming that some of my inherent cheesiness will dissipate with time.  We’ll see.

Blue has been my favorite color since I was a very young girl.  I love many shades of blue, too.  I don’t know if I can attribute this love to any one thing – maybe it’s how the color reminds me of my dad’s eyes (as well as my grandpa’s, and now my nephew’s and my fiance’s); or maybe it’s how so many shades of blue are played out in different bodies of water whether it be the ocean, a lake, or a swimming pool – I love them all; or maybe it’s how when I look at something that is blue I instantly feel a state of calm.  Regardless, I love the color.

Darrin’s favorite color is green.  And though he likes blue, he takes issue with certain shades.  For instance, navy blue is out of the question for him.

As you can tell from this kitchen cabinet makeover, we’ve already started merging our two favorite colors.  So, it’s no surprise that we’ve settled on the two colors for inspiration for our wedding pallette.  If you’re keeping tally folks, we’ve actually made another official decision (but still no date).

So, now the matter at hand is settling on the shade of blue and green to go with.  Here are some photos I’ve been storing on my Pinterest page and mulling over as possible inspiration.

Exhibit A:

Vibrant shades of blue and green pop out from unlikely (and likely) sources – but not always together.  A blue door left me drooling at the site, and a green peeking-petticoat (one of my favorite new customs) had me ready to switch sides on the blue/green fence.

Forget the wedding! We've got two front doors and they both need this color. Stat! Stat means now!

That green knocks me for a loop and makes me question my blue allegiance.

Exhibit B:

Deeper tones of blue and green from a real-life wedding and a painting found on Etsy.com definitely feel right for a fall wedding.  Plus how awesome does that grey suit look?  Darrin would murder that suit!

These deeper tones are perfect for a fall wedding.

The blues and greens in this painting go so well together. A foreshadowing of the future to come?

Exhibit C:

For our final look at color inspiration today, we turn to nature.  A bouquet of peacock feathers and a grassy cliff overlooking the ocean prove that blue and green are a match made in heaven.

Blue and green co-exist happily in nature.

 

Blues and greens near the ocean offer tons of inspiration.

So what do you think?  How did you pick the colors for your wedding?  Or if you’re not married, are there any color combinations you’ve seen that you’re crazy about?

Like what you see?  Click on each photograph to get to its original source (or at least as close to its original source as I could take you).

 

 

One thought on “I Got the Blues…and Greens…

Leave a Reply

