Forget the Figs

I recently attended a lovely party (and I promise to write more on that later) at my friend Renee’s house.  I was invited to bring a savory dish as Renee was taking care of the sweet treats.  And boy did she ever take care of the sweet treats.  She made these petite pecan tarts that were heavenly.  The crust was so light and delicate, and the filling had a sweet syrupy texture – as oppose to the gelatinous goop I’ve seen in typical pecan pies.  After one bite, I proposed to her (sorry Darrin).

When deciding what to make for the party, I turned to my favorite site (say it with me now) Pinterest for a new fall inspired recipe.  I wanted something that felt warm and earthy.  That’s when I stumbled upon the following photo.

Figgy Brie Rolls from Better Homes and Gardens

Doesn’t that look delicious and cozy?  I was instantly interested in what these rolls had to offer, except for the fig part.  Count me out.  I just don’t like figs, unless there’s a newton involved.  So, I started to think, what could I substitute for the figs? Prosciutto?  Sun dried tomatoes?  I adjusted the recipe to fit my own tastes and to my delight, it was a success.  The other party goers ate-up every last roll and (dare I say) loved them!  So, I thought I’d share my recipe with all of you.  If you’d like to see the original recipe (in case you are a figgy-fan), simply click on the photo above to be taken to the BH&G website featuring the recipe.

Mellissa’s Sun dried Tomato, Brie, & Rosemary Rolls

Yields: 16 roles

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup chopped sun dried tomatoes (use the ones in the bag, not the ones packed in oil)
  • Fresh rosemary
  • 1 teaspoon honey
  • 2 tubes of Pillsbury french loaf
  • 2 oz (at least) brie cheese cut into 1/2 inch pieces
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 T water and 1/2 T warm water
  • Kosher salt
Directions
Spray a 8x8x2-inch baking pan with oil.  Set aside.

For filling, select a few sprigs of rosemary and chop finely.  (If you like rosemary, chop more.  Just know that a little can go a long way.)  In a small bowl, combine tomatoes, rosemary, honey, and 1/2 T of warm water.

Open both tubes of bread dough and cut into 16 equal portions (8 portions per tube).  Shape portions into a ball.  One at a time, take a dough ball and flatten it.  Place a small spoonfull of the tomato mixture into the center of the dough circle.  Top the filling with a few pieces of cheese.  Fold dough over the filling; twist and pinch to seal.  Place the dough ball, sealed side down, in the baking pan.  Cover pan and let rest for about 45 minutes – 1 hour.

Preheat oven to 350.  Whisk together egg white and 1T of water.  Lightly brush mixture over the rolls.  Pick off a sprig of rosemary and press one or two (depending on taste) into the top of each roll.  Sprinkle with kosher salt.

Bake in preheated oven about 20 – 25 minutes or until golden brown.  Cool in pan on rack for about five minutes.  Serve warm.

I ended up forming the dough balls on the same board where I chopped the rosemary.  This happy accident resulted in some rolls getting an extra infusion of rosemary in the dough.  I might do this on purpose next time.  Also, next time I won’t be so chintzy on the cheese.  Lord knows you can never have too much ooey-gooey brie.

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I did.  Hopefully you’ll take it and make it your own, switching ingredients for things that work for you.

One thought on “Forget the Figs

Leave a Reply

